A Birthday, A Success, A New Word, A Great Blessing

Yesterday was J’s 22nd birthday.

Happy Birthday to you!!

This is the first time my cake did not collapse in the middle. Yahoo! Celebration! Ring the bells! Okay, in the interest of full disclosure, it was a little lopsided, but it looked pretty good. Unfortunately, I did not think of taking a picture before it was devoured. I only make a cake once a year and every year the layers come out of the oven looking like meteorite crash sites (how did meteorites get in my oven?).

meteor-crater.jpg

It’s the altitude, of course. For a long time, I thought it was me, that I was born with a cake baking deficiency. Mais non! It does help to adjust for the havoc altitude wreaks on a cake. Less sugar and leavening agent, more flour, more liquid, big eggs, higher oven temp, shorter baking time. Maybe I’ll bake a cake every once in a while, now that it doesn’t seem a foregone disaster. (I still have to figure out how to thicken up my frosting).

Bringing out the camera encourages J’s penchant for making faces. Here is her birthday picture (click for a bigger view of her lovely BIG eyes).

j.jpg

Do you know how many pictures I have of her with eyes crossed or some other clever facial bizarrity*? Actually very few, because they’ve been trashed. There are worse behaviors than hamming for the camera, of course, but mothers like to have pictures of their kids looking normal, especially on special occasions.

Of course, she’s had to put up with a parent with an abnormal penchant for picture taking, so maybe she’s actually been incredibly patient and I’m the one who’s weird. I mean she’s had a camera stuck in her face from the instant she was born. Hmmm. . . .

Happy Birthday to you!!

I am so blessed. So so so so incredibly blessed. Words can’t even get close. Blessed blessed blessed.

Love Love Love Love Love

– – – – – – – – – – – –

* I like making up words and I can do it if I want, ’cause it’s my blog and I’m the decider (and I get to be the decider for ever and ever, ’cause once you’re the decider, you’re always the decider).

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Guinness tastes very good with vegetarian goulash. Very very scrumptiously good (I also don’t have to use commas if I don’t want).

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Coming soon . . . a Salt of the Earth post.

4 Comments

Filed under family, lifestuff

4 responses to “A Birthday, A Success, A New Word, A Great Blessing

  1. cranky housefrau

    hey, maybe i can help you out with your frosting issues! and you should bake a cake once a month. it is an important food!
    your daughter is adorable! i used to do the same thing, pulling faces when my picture was taken. i stopped at some point…i would guess maturity, but that has to be wrong 🙂

  2. Cranky, Yeah, I need help with frosting! I think one of the problems is I make it once a year, so I don’t get a chance to experiment. (I actually make cakes with fruit in them every now and then, I just don’t make a layer cake with frosting because they always collapsed.)

    Isn’t she beautiful?? Even with her saucer-eyes. (Of course, I’m not biased!)

  3. Lovely and a funny face and gorgeous big eyes as you point out!

    Happy and Birthday wishes flow from here to there!

Leave a Reply

