Trivia Meme

Jan tagged me a few days ago, but I’ve been in the real world and out of the cyber world, so am just now getting around to it. This is similar to that ten facts about me meme I did recently, but I’ll try to think of new tidbits for this one.

The rules:

– Link to the person who tagged you.
– Post the rules on your blog.
– Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.
– Tag six people and at the end of your post, link to their blogs.
– Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

1. I’m a piler. I have four piles on my desk right now (of course, several books and lots of paper in each pile). It’s a bad habit.

2. When I was a kid, my dad called me Big Bird (my sister was Little Bird).

3. I once called my daughter a stupid cow. It was a moment of incredible frustration in one of those back and forth arguments that never end and was said half-jokingly (I say half because part of me wanted to say something mean). Of course she’s not a stupid cow in any possible sense of the words, but sometimes the worst comes out. We still laugh about it.

4. I bite my nails. I started when I was a kid because my older brother did it and I’m still doing it!

5. Because my father was so strict, I ended up lying to him all the time as a teenager. Now I almost can’t tell a lie—even when doing it as a joke, I’m terrible at it. (I say almost because, of course I can if forced to, but I’d feel incredibly uncomfortable.)

6. Okay, this isn’t about me, but it came to mind, so here it is. My mom was working on the campaign to pass the Equal Rights Amendment* when I was a kid (this was around 1970/71) and she’d have my sister and I help her stuff envelopes or whatever. My parents had been divorced for several years and my dad was (is) extremely conservative, completely against the ERA and everything it stood for (women as equals? no way.). Anyway, on one of our weekend visits to our dad’s house, my sister, who was about six years old, made a bumper sticker and taped it to my dad’s car. It said, All the way with the ERA. She didn’t realize she was doing anything “wrong,” of course. I don’t remember his reaction, but I imagine he was very unhappy. I wonder if this is one of the reasons he was so unyielding in indoctrinating his children in conservative ideology—he felt he had to counter my mom’s influence. It worked, until I went to college and read books like Richard Barnet’s The Roots of War (yeah, it must’ve been assigned by one of those liberal professors, but all I can say is the facts opened my eyes to a reality that I had been ignorant to before that; it’s better to know the truth and then make up your mind than to be blindly stick to what you’ve been taught).

I know that many of you have been tagged with similar memes already, so feel free to decline if you want (feel free to decline even if you haven’t done one!). That in mind, I tag: YogaMum, Kirsten, ScoutGypsyGirlMoonymaid, CrankyHausfrau.

– – – – – – – – – – – –

*The Equal Rights Amendment is very threatening:

Section 1. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

Section 2. The Congress shall have the power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.

Section 3. This amendment shall take effect two years after the date of ratification.

6 Comments

Filed under family, lifestuff, memes

6 responses to “Trivia Meme

  1. I love learning about you my nail biting and piling cohort! Yes me too on both counts.

  2. I love learning about you my nail biting and piling cohort! Yes me too on both counts.

  3. I will definitely do this one soon!

  4. Jan

    I really like knowing that you are a piler, because I am, too. It’s a habit I can’t seem to get out of.

    I’m glad you wrote about yourself!

  5. scoutdog

    I see you just did this, but I tagged Isabel as well!

  6. Pingback: It’s Not You, It’s Meme « yoga gumbo

Leave a Reply

